MENU

Webinar series: Simple steps to publication-quality western blots

Event date: Oct 12-14, 2021 | One session per day
 
 
Western blot analysis is a method widely used in the lab today because of its versatility in detecting and measuring specific target proteins in a sample. However, in recent years the reproducibility and quality of western blotting data has been increasingly scrutinized. Publications have developed more stringent review guidelines for western blot data, based on recommendations arising from a 2014 meeting organized by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the journals Science and Nature.
 
Our team of western blotting experts have put together this 3-part webinar series that is designed to help you avoid some of the pitfalls associated with western blotting and enable you to achieve publication-quality western blot results. This webinar series will share tips and provide step-by-step guidance on how to improve the quality and reproducibility of data for both qualitative and quantitative western blotting, with attention on some of the newer guidelines.
 
Each session will include a 30-minute presentation and 15 minutes of live Q&A. All sessions will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 
 
Session 1
October 12, 2021 5:00 p.m. PT | 8:00 p.m. ET
October 13, 2021 11:00 a.m. AEDT
 
Image collection and presentation
Primary antibody considerations
Improving band resolution with experimental design
 
 
Session 2
October 13, 2021 7:00 a.m. PT | 10:00 a.m. ET | 3:00 p.m. GMT
 
Improving background without digital tools
Improving detection of low-abundance proteins
 
 
Session 3
October 14, 2021 9:00 a.m. PT | 12:00 p.m. ET | 5:00 p.m. GMT
 
Improving reproducibility
Special considerations for quantitative western blots

Speakers
  • Kelli Feather-Henigan

    Sr. Product Manager, Protein and Cell Analysis, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jordan Thompson, PhD

    Product Manager, Electrophoresis, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Caleb Shearrow

    Product Manager, Protein Detection, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY

Show Resources
Agenda
Speakers

  • Kelli Feather-Henigan
    Kelli Feather-Henigan
    Sr. Product Manager, Protein and Cell Analysis, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jordan Thompson, PhD
    Jordan Thompson, PhD
    Product Manager, Electrophoresis, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Caleb Shearrow
    Caleb Shearrow
    Product Manager, Protein Detection, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
C.E. Credits

The speakers below have been approved for Continuing Education Credits. To redeem your credits, locate the presentation you watched and click on the CE buttons for further direction. For more general information regarding continuing education, the processes to receive credits, and the accreditation bodies, Click here


Help

General Labroots Questions

email support@labroots.com  

Virtual Events and Webinars

Supported Configurations

  • Operating System Internet Explorer Firefox Chrome Safari
    Vista IE8+ FF10+ Chrome15+
    Windows 7 IE8+ FF10+ Chrome15+
    Windows 8 IE10 FF10+ Chrome15+
    Mac OS X   FF10+ Chrome15+ Safari5.1+
  • Cookie settings: session cookies enabled
  • Browser configuration must have JavaScript enabled
  • Adobe Flash player 10.2 or later

To watch our webinars and virtual events a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or an updated version of Internet Explorer is required.

Internet Connection

  • A minimum of 100Kbps is recommended for audio-only events
  • A minimum of 300Kbps is recommended for speaker on-video events

Computer Equipment

  • Screen Resolution: Minimum 1024x768
  • Video Card: 65,000 colors minimum
  • Sound card and speakers (or headphones) for hearing webcast in full format
  • Audio Card: 16-bit minimum
  • RAM: 512MB of free RAM

Firewall Protocol

  • HTTP on port 80 or HTTPS on port 443
  • Adobe RTMP on port 1935, 80, or 443 with automatic fall-back to RTMPT (RTMP tunneling) on ports 1935, 80 or 443
  • RTMPE (RTMP encrypted) on ports 1935, 80 or 443

Work-At-Home Attendees

  • If a corporate VPN is used, confirm that your network traffic is not directed over the company VPN. If it is, please turn off the VPN while attending the virtual event.

For A Seamless Experience

When using a mobile device, FREE Mobile Apps are available:

- For viewing Webinars:

- For viewing Virtual Events

Attendee Guide

  • To learn more about how the virtual event works for attendees, download the Attendee Guide (PDF).

Virtual Event and Webinar Support:

Continuing Education (CME/CE) Support