MAY 25, 2021 6:00 AM PDT

How Busulfan testing improved the management of Bone Marrow Transplant Patients

Sponsored by: Waters Corporation
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker

Abstract

Date:  May 25, 2021

Time: 6:00am (PDT),  9:00am (EDT), 2pm (BST), 3pm (CEST)

 

Therapeutic drug monitoring (TDM) of Busulfan is essential for management of Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT) patients, by optimizing dose, supporting compliance, and minimizing toxicity. Busulfan is a chemotherapeutic agent used as a component in a myeloablative preconditioning regimen before hematological stem cell transplantation. A liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry method for rapid and accurate quantification of Busulfan in plasma was developed and validated in the Department of Chemistry at Baptist Hospital of Miami. The TDM and timely plasma concentration reporting of Busulfan would provide an improvement in the quality-of-care for BMT patients. 

 

Learning Objectives

  • Identify our purpose to measure Busulfan in BMT patients’ samples.
  • Describe a clinical method to measure Busulfan in plasma by LC-MS/MS.
  • Describe the validation results of the method to measure Busulfan in plasma by LC-MS/MS.

 

 

Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.


Show Resources
You May Also Like
FEB 24, 2021 10:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
FEB 24, 2021 10:00 AM PST
DATE: February 24, 2021 TIME: 10am PST Automated lab instruments such as liquid handlers and cell sorters are increasingly common in all types of laboratories, driving fast results for labor...
MAY 11, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
MAY 11, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
Date: May 11, 2021 Time: 10:00zm PDT Your samples are some of the most valuable assets in the laboratory. After spending countless hours on extraction and preparation, your conclusions could...
JAN 21, 2021 8:00 AM PST
JAN 21, 2021 8:00 AM PST
Date: January 21, 2021 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST) Today, critical reagent characterization is a key component in the overall workflow to establish robust ligand binding assays (e.g.,...
APR 21, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
APR 21, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
Date: April 21, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) Serological testing for SARS-CoV-2 has been steadily adopted into clinical practice over the course of this pandemic. In this webinar,...
MAR 16, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
MAR 16, 2021 10:00 AM PDT
Date: March 16, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PST) Scientific progress and breakthroughs today are often too expensive for most institutions to acquire. Each year, the National Institutes of Health (N...
APR 01, 2021 8:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
APR 01, 2021 8:00 AM PDT
Date: April 01, 2021 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST) Generating therapeutic antibodies is far more challenging than obtaining antibodies that merely recognize their targets. Engineering po...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources
Attendees
  • See more