MAY 30, 2024 9:00 AM PDT

Exploring the clinical and immunopathological association between Long COVID and Sjögren's Disease in mice and humans

Sponsored by: Olink Proteomics
Speaker

Event Date & Time
Date: May 30, 2024
Time: 9:00 AM (PDT), 12:00 PM (EDT), 6:00 PM (CEST)
Abstract
Long COVID, now recognized as Post-Acute Sequelae of SARS-CoV-2 Infection (PASC), represents a significant and growing concern in public health and medical communities. As the COVID-19 pandemic unfolds, the long-term consequences of the virus are becoming increasingly evident. A notable portion of individuals, even after recovering from the acute stage of COVID-19, report enduring symptoms and health complications persisting for weeks to months.
 
Preliminary epidemiological research indicates that about 10-30% of COVID-19 survivors might suffer from long COVID symptoms. Among these manifestations is Sjögren’s disease, an autoimmune condition characterized by dry eyes and mouth symptoms. The disease can also have systemic impacts, affecting various organs and systems, including the skin, joints, respiratory system, and nervous system, highlighting the diverse and profound nature of long COVID.
 
Here, we conducted an analysis of Sjögren´s disease mouse models, including the quantification of 43 biomarkers using Olink Target 48 Mouse cytokine panel to elucidate the mechanisms driving Sjögren´s disease and correlating the cytokine levels with acute and chronic SARS-CoV-2 infection.
 
Learning Objectives:
  • Outline the clinical symptoms observed in COVID-19 patients and similarities with those seen in Sjögren’s disease patients.
  • Discuss the outcomes observed in animal models infected with SARS-CoV-2.
  • Highlight the prospective advancements in the diagnosis and treatment of these conditions.
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live broadcast.

You May Also Like
Loading Comments...