MAY 31, 2022 11:00 AM PDT

Minnesota Leads the Nation in Congenital CMV: Building the Case for Universal Newborn Screening

Sponsored by: Roche Diagnostics
Speaker
  • University of Minnesota Medical School, Twin Cities Campus, Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, American Legion and Auxiliary Heart Research Foundation Endowed
    BIOGRAPHY

Abstract
Date:  May 31, 2022
Time: 11:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (CDT) 2:00pm (EST), 8:00pm (CEST)
 
In February of 2022 Minnesota became the first state in the U.S. to require the screening for every newborn for congenital CMV. This was the first infectious disease added to the newborn screening panel which historically has only focused on inherited genetic conditions.  This webinar will discuss the importance of congenital CMV universal screening and introduce how Minnesota plans to realize this goal.
 
 
Objectives:
 
Outline importance of congenital CMV.
Discuss universal screening and impact on newborn healthcare.
Review discussions about development of an implementation plan for universal congenital CMV screening in Minnesota.
 
Learning Objectives:
 
Introduce congenital CMV (transmission, clinical presentation, complications of infection, diagnosis and treatment).
Discuss universal screening and impact.
Discuss initial steps toward development of an implementation plan for universal screening.
Current vaccine status update.
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
JUL 19, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
JUL 19, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: July 19, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00pm (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Traditional liver perfusion procedures are difficult to perform and require extensive training, steady hands, and long-st...
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Date: June 21, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PDT), 9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST) The global understanding and practice of medicine is currently undergoing a revolutionary change. This shift to precision...
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
Date: March 23, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEDT) In this presentation, Dr. Middleton will review the development and deployment of large-scale saliva-based COVID-19 test...
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: April 28, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Human pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) and their derivatives hold great potentials in...
AUG 10, 2022 10:00 AM PDT
AUG 10, 2022 10:00 AM PDT
Date: August 10, 2022 Time: 10:00am PDT, 1:00pm EDT The global pandemic has increased focus and scrutiny on molecular diagnostic assay development, resulting in a need for assays that provid...
JUN 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
JUN 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: June 29, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PST), 11:00am (EST), 5:00pm (CEST) As of May 2022, there have been more than 500 million confirmed cases of COVID-19, including numerous variants. Additiona...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources